Coronavirus (COVID-19) local information and advice:

Advice and how our services are affected

One Reading Community Hub Support

Advice for business

What is the Dignity in Care Charter?

The Dignity Charter consists of 12 pledges towards dignity in care:

  • Having a zero tolerance of abuse
  • Not stereotyping, labelling or subjecting people to discrimination or tolerating such behaviour towards vulnerable people from others 
  • Communicating in an honest, polite, courteous and respectful manner
  • Respecting and preserving privacy and confidentiality
  • Treating people as individuals and with respect
  • Taking the time to communicate in an individualised way what is happening and what we are doing
  • Enabling the maximum possible level of independence, informed choice and control
  • Involving people and their representatives, where appropriate, in planning for all aspects of their care and support
  • Acting to alleviate loneliness and isolation
  • Providing relevant and easy to understand information and not using jargon
  • Apologising if we have made a mistake and offering a resolution
  • Giving the opportunity to receive feedback on how we provide our service and the ways we communicate.
Switch To High Contrast Mode