Dignity in Care Charter

The Dignity Charter consists of 12 pledges towards dignity in care. Organisations providing care services in Reading are invited to sign up. This demonstrates their commitment to delivering high quality care services.

Care providers who have made this commitment are listed in our Reading Services Guide and on our Home Care and Support Framework and Supported Living Framework list

To sign up, providers must be based in Reading, have a contract with us and provide direct care to adults. To find out more, contact the Commissioning Team.

pdf icon Dignity in Care Resource Pack [617kb]

Dignity Charter 

1)   Having a zero tolerance of abuse.

2)   Not stereotyping, labelling or subjecting people to discrimination or tolerating such behaviour towards vulnerable people from others.

3)   Communicating in an honest, polite, courteous and respectful manner.

4)   Respecting and preserving privacy and confidentiality.

5)   Treating people as individuals and with respect.

6)   Taking the time to communicate in an individualised way what is happening and what we are doing.

7)   Enabling the maximum possible level of independence, informed choice and control.

8)   Involving people and their representatives, where appropriate, in planning for all aspects of their care and support.

9)   Acting to alleviate loneliness and isolation.

10) Providing relevant and easy to understand information and not using jargon.

11) Apologising if we have made a mistake and offering a resolution.

12) Giving the opportunity to receive feedback on how we provide our service and the ways we communicate.



iCM Form
  1. Your Contact Details
Switch To High Contrast Mode